Just another job interview, I suppose

August 16, 2013 at 11:52 am (Reflections)

I don’t have enough energy to be pissed at myself today. Not as much as it is required to be as pissed as I should be.

I messed up. There, I’m not afraid to admit it, does that fall in the “professional strengths” category, or the fact that I did falls into “professional weaknesses?” It was a question I’ve answered a gazillion times before, a stupid one at that, but I’ve answered and rehearsed it nonetheless. I’ve practiced it. I knew the fucking answer. Then why?

The billion-dollar question – why, indeed! Another thing I’ve rediscovered time after time – I’ve just been lucky before. So extraordinarily, impossibly, unbelievably, improbably lucky! That’s the only explanation for how I’ve managed to do anything at all with my clumsy slow stupid brain. And the next person who mentions something about the value of persistence, hard-work and learning can shove their opinion up their ass! These things don’t mean a broken penny! There’s one thing that counts – presentation! And it’s the thing I suck at.

2 Comments

  1. Кал said,

    Ahem … may I? 🙂

    Did you see that poll I sent you guys, called “Farewell to Illusions”? (It was in Bulgarian.) I was inspired for it by a book called _Thinking, Fast and Slow_., by Daniel Kahneman I heartily recommend it to you, Vi. Especially the parts I’ve highlighted in Fantasia (in the “Intelligence” topic).

    There’s a _crucial_ thing about interviews there. I laughed so hard when I first read it. 😀 Now I won’t ever trust another interview’s results. Or bring my bag of salts at least. 😉

    (Btw, ^that^ is me hugging you. Just pointing out, in case it got lost among the words. 🙂

    • allyvrk said,

      of course! But it must have slipped through some cracks – I don’t recall it. Would you mind sharing it again in an email?

Leave a Reply

