The world can use an extra smile

May 8, 2014 at 2:54 am (Reflections)

“If I lived forever, who knows what I would do? I would certainly get better at the piano. I would try to learn how to paint. I think I would try to read all the books I haven’t read. When I was a child, the house was full of books — the walls were lined with bookshelves — and I remember looking up at them once and thinking, ‘I wonder if I’ll ever be able to read all those books?’ and my mother said, ‘It’s all right; you’ve got loads of time.’ But actually we don’t have that much time — I know I won’t. There will be things I’ll miss out on.”

I know you’ve already googled the quote, who cares! It’s not original, it’s as old as time – the time we won’t have, you and I. I didn’t find it, it found me – the realization that we have but a stroke of a brush to leave a mark on the canvas of time. Or, do we? Can we say we have anything at all?

I was gonna be all whiny, somewhat cynical and borderline morbid with this post, but I decided to write a tribute, instead. The idea came halfway through a conversation with a friend (oh, these 2:30am skype and facebook inspirational chats that keep me sane!) psychoanalyzing the author of the above quote. Now I want to write something positive. About the real people who (may) have been there, (may) have suffered through enough and (may) have come out on the other side, not to tell their tale, but to inspire with their example.

Shake a stranger’s hand, smile for the camera, hug the kid who ran to hug you, play along, smell the flowers, dance in the rain, be humble, but be not afraid to bare your soul… What are we all so scared of anyway, what’s that horrible monster that they’re gonna see inside? Everyone’s got bad days, but when it gets all that unbearable, close your eyes, change your focus, and maybe, just maybe, you’ll see The moment again, a single moment in time, and just maybe, you’ll see it from a new perspective, and just maybe, you’ll tell yourself “Well, I’m still alive!” Isn’t that a reason enough to smile?

The world can use an extra smile. These are words I need to remind myself shamefully often. Oh, don’t get me wrong, if you’ve read here long enough, you know well enough that I’m the first person who needs to start practicing the message in this post. I guess that makes me somewhat hypocritical tonight after all? I’m still keeping my monsters locked away down deep.. Do you think I should sign up for an acting class? Maybe there I’ll learn how to unleash them and not be afraid? The world can take it. “All world is a stage,” right? Or are these famous first words of a newly-hatched psychopath? Hahaha, I even manage to entertain myself nowadays.

Seriously though, we’re not the same, but we’re all human. We all need inspiration. Those who have learned how to conquer their monsters have first been defeated, and have then come back.  Those who inspire do so, because they’ve been inspired by somebody else. Pay it forward!

Leave a Reply

